风格年表

英式

年表

法式

伊丽莎白女王:1558-1603

在这期间英国发展了具有自己民族风格的家具,
灵感来自文艺复兴时期理想的比例和装饰。

主要特点:小室内装潢,青睐木制结构(尤其是橡木);重,曲面形状,像佛兰芒和荷兰风格似的球形;缺乏意大利文艺复兴时期家具平衡的比例;旺盛和丰富的雕刻,玻璃变得越来越便宜,通常用在镶嵌钻石的样式。

 

詹姆士一世时期:1603年至1625年

这一时期的家具基本上是伊丽莎白时代风格的延续,但更加注重细节,和更平衡的比例。这一时期的主要人物是建筑师伊利高琼斯,他回英国前曾在意大利留学。琼斯的灵感来自伟大的意大利建筑师帕拉迪奥,并把帕拉迪奥的设计方法介绍到了英国。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

克伦威尔:1649-1660

引自斯蒂芬孙先生:
“很平淡,枯燥,不舒服的家具。
这就是为什么我们不应该是一个共和国。“

(克伦威尔曾试图通过光荣革命把英国变成共和制)

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

复辟:1660至88年
(查理二世和詹姆斯二世)

从法国流亡回来的查理二世带回了很强烈的法国家具风格。查理一世和复辟时期的家具以木雕闻名于世。一个很好的例子是格列林吉本斯,他创造了风格浓烈,但轻巧和细腻的雕刻家具。

主要特点:木质镶板和装饰性石膏作品被越来越多地使用,它们作为室内装饰品,镀金,石膏镶嵌越来越受欢迎,开始成为把手的主要材料

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

威廉与玛丽时期:1789至02年

在此期间的家具受到了荷兰和法国设计的强烈影响,这是由于密切的商业联系和熟练工匠移民到英国,他们中的一些人是逃难到英国的法国修金诺教派教徒 。

主要特点:镀金,内饰精细的丝绸,镶嵌细工,漆器和布勒,曲线结构,如包子形的桌脚,蜿蜒的形状,从1700年开始流行的勺子形的椅背设计,以提供良好的背部舒适度。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

安妮女王:1702-1714

这一时期被誉为“优雅的时代”,是政府的黄金时期。整个社会充满了对艺术和建筑的兴趣,这股风潮特别是从游学的兴起开始的(译者:游学是指该时期的贵族子女完成正规教育后进行的旅行)。在这一时期也有很多法国家具进口到英国。

主要特点:伊利高琼斯风格的回归,但融入了对设计的更深理解。核桃是最受青睐的木材,暂停了对镶嵌细工和拼花地板的使用,但交叉条纹的装饰薄木板还在沿用。整体效果更为细腻和优雅。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

早期格鲁吉亚:1714-1727

安妮女王风格的延续,但更加具有时尚感,智慧女神雅典娜形象的增加。巴洛克风格和威廉•肯特风格的同时并存,与奢侈的曲线设计,镀金和精细的内饰。

主要特点:经典的装饰,如卵锚饰的模子,壁柱式结构,往往伴随着门和书柜,飞檐,叶镖形的雕花拱顶,红木超越核桃木成为最受青睐的材料。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

中期格鲁吉亚:1727年至1760年

齐本德尔

托马斯齐本德尔: c.1718-1779
齐本德尔是英国家具设计中最有影响力的人物之一,他的著作《绅士和家具制造大佬》,现在仍然是,18世纪的家具设计的重要记录。第三版包含超过200件令人印象深刻的模板,颇有法国的洛可可,中国或哥特式的味道。

赫波怀特

广受欢迎的赫波怀特风格是来自一本叫《家具制造商指南》的书,书中涵盖了近乎三百件设计。很多设计呼应亚当和路易十六的风格,很多赫波怀特风格的家具设计具有亚当风格的内核。赫波怀特的设计风格以简约优雅和极好的比例为亮点。特殊的风格特征包括曲线,修长的逐渐变细的脚或弯脚,精细的椅背和不同木制材料的使用。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

晚格鲁吉亚:1760-1820

亚当

亚当兄弟 - 罗伯特和詹姆斯•亚当 – 是在新古典主义的复兴中,值得一提的人物,罗伯特•亚当为人所知是他的设计,他实际上是一种新古典主义风格的创造者,这一风格现在被称为“亚当风格”。这种风格涵盖了一切,从建筑细节到家具的颜色方案。大部分的家具设计是参照他们同时代的设计风格。

喜来登

托马斯喜来登1751至1806年
这是一个在英国家具制造业历史上伟大的名字,喜来登出版了几本书,关于家具,装潢和精加工。说到喜来登,它已经更少用于指代它的缔造者本身的名字,而是更多地用于代表喜来登所缔造的设计风格。这一风格是法国都政府向法兰西帝国过渡时期的产物,它以优美精致的做工,亮度和对细节和比例的精细搭配出名。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

帝国时期:1804年至1815年

这一时期的家具风格正如这一时期的名字一样,对英格兰的家具产生了深远的影响。

 

摄政王时期:1811年至1820年

在此期间,英国正处于第二阶段的古典复兴,
家具设计的灵感来自古希腊和罗马的大理石。

主要特点:精致简约,对古希腊风格的强调;青睐朴素的样式,没有过多的细致装饰处理;倍受青睐的红木,加上乌木,缎木和金属,用于镶嵌和雕刻。在着色方面,通常效仿镀金物的材质和色泽,流行的图案包括狮子面具,女像柱,海豚,竖琴,莲花从,花环和叶子。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

摄政王晚期:1820-1830
和 威廉四世:1830-1837

摄政王时期风格的延续,但在本质上是一次对哥特式风格的浪漫复兴,被称为“哥特城堡”

主要特点:窗饰,拱门,装饰性图像。在颇受欢迎的现代木料比如红木和紫檀木的制作中,融入了中世纪的风格元素,但缺乏良好的平衡和内在的象征意义,并不是真正意义上的哥特式和中世纪的设计。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

维多利亚时代:1837-1901

维多利亚时代早期在英国的家具制造业历史上是非常重要的部分,由于英国的工业革命,从根本上改变了家具制造的方式,开始大规模的机械化生产。在家具设计方面,将重点放在制造上使其缺乏创造性,因此维多利亚风格被称为的“怀旧历史主义” - 浪漫的复兴中世纪和文艺复兴时期的艺术和建筑的一般特点。

这一时期的一些特殊设计主题包括:

现代英国哥特式

石板门样式与丰富的窗饰。

艺术家具

原来朴素的家具被加以着色。在印象派盛行的时期得到大量生产。

日本风格

一种百分百日化的时尚风格,从而导致到对土耳其,波斯,埃及,印度和摩尔人的艺术探索。

艺术和手工艺品

一个强大的世界性的运动,由英国引领,导致了家具制造业者的振兴。它在时间上和在欧洲大陆上的新艺术主义运动并行。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

爱德华七世时代:1901-1910

一个现代化和国际化的风格,象征着正直和健康,极具现代表现力。设计上应用了很多新材料如玻璃,混凝土和钢。导致了装饰派艺术的诞生。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

1550
1600
1650
1700
1750
1800
1850
1900
1950

文艺复兴:1643

坚持古典的比例和风格,分为五个等级:多立克式,爱奥尼亚,科林斯,托斯卡纳和综合。每个等级的比例和装饰都有特殊的规则。在法国这一时期的风格样式互相重叠,并且往往被称为作为弗朗索瓦一世和亨利二世。

主要特点:平衡与和谐的构成;古典图案的应用,如爵床叶,女像柱,植物造型,面具,怪诞风格和卷轴的使用。总体而言,是优雅内敛的风格。

 

路易十三:1610至1643年

路易十三时期基本上涵盖了17世纪的上半叶,开始于波旁王朝。波旁王朝极大地鼓舞了艺术的发展,并制定了一个有组织的计划,以培育新的人才。因此,法国成为一个伟大的艺术活动中心,对周边国家的艺术产生了系列而深远的影响(意大利,西班牙和佛兰德)。

主要特点:夸张的细节,充满活力,摆件,雕刻,车削,镶嵌,绘画,烫金,增加了对软装饰的使用。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

路易十四:1643-1715

太阳之王统治时期是法国经济和文化的黄金时期。家具的设计从对时下流行款式的收集,从对德佛兰,意大利和西班牙的家具的收藏过渡到自成一体的法国家具设计。政府继续对艺术产业提供赞助,路易十四在罗浮宫周围为一些著名的艺术家和家具工匠修建了画廊和工作室。

主要特点:富裕,对称的组成和优雅的雕刻,在进口纺织品和挂毯中出现的装饰品开始被使用,来自中国的艺术品(如进口纺织品,陶器等)开始显示其影响;各种木材和金属被用于细节的修饰;主要木料有,黑檀木,胡桃木,橡木,榉木和各种果木,有些木材往往通过手工着色,以获得精确的色调和做工;彩色大理石成为洗脸台的表面用料。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

过渡时期:1715-1723

一个过渡时期,路易十四定下的规则和法律在逐渐被路易十五修改和替代。风格上保留了路易十四时期丰富优雅的特点,但具有更浪漫的主题和优雅的细节做工。在这个时期,洛可可风格吸收了同时期意大利设计风格的长处 – 一种更轻巧的风格,对路易十四风格形成一种非完全相称的替代。

主要特点:细长的形状(如的叶形);镀金技术的发展,使用偏红色调的木料加上对镀金的巧妙利用,减少了对乌木的使用,在设计中使用小图像,受东方设计风格和古典神话的影响。特别是流行的壳形图案 - 直立的壳,叶子从两边延伸出来。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

路易十五:1723年至1774年

洛可可风格正式进入了一个属于自己的时代。舒适并且豪华的家具成为设计的主导,蜿蜒的曲线造型,不对称的曲线雕刻被大胆地使用。更加朴素而非华丽的家具被制作用于满足一些并不追求时尚的贵族的需求 - 这种风格经常被日益壮大的中产阶级复制,引导了乡村风格的发展。

主要特点:精细的比例,优美的线条,直桌脚被曲脚取代,镶饰和镶嵌非常流行 -由于弯曲的家具表面,对工艺提出了更高的要求,丝绸和缎子作为装饰物,流行的木料包括橡木,胡桃木,榉木,榆木和野樱桃。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

路易十六:1774年至1793年

新古典主义的复兴,但是比以前的期间更注重罗马和希腊的艺术,依赖于文艺复兴时期对文物的诠释。

主要特点:精致的简约,有很强的装饰性同时具有优雅和精致的做工;较亮的颜色装饰和室内装饰更受青睐,与路易十四的巴洛克风格和路易十五的洛可可风格相比,多了一份内敛;主要是直线的造型,但圆,椭圆和椭圆形的形状也经常被使用;朴素的边框;通常使用红木。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

督政府时期:1795年至1799年

督政府时期取名自当时法国的统治机构,督政府。这一政权一直从全民公会延续到了法国大革命结束。.督政府时期的设计风格比督政府本身持续的时间要更久,督政府时期的家具本质上是一种具有过渡性质的风格,有点接近摄政王时期的早期阶段。艺术家们试图捕捉到古希腊和罗马的真正精神。尤其是罗马共和国成为了许多革命领袖,哲学家和艺术家的设计灵感。

主要特点:革命的符号渗透到设计中 - 自由之帽,橡树,紧握的手,和三色旗都应用在了家具制造中;精致和简洁。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

执政府时期:1799-1804

拿破仑推翻了督政府,创立了执政府统治,并任命自己为第一任执政官。执政府时代的家具还是本质上延续了督政府时期的风格,虽然其在后期阶段发展成为了法兰西帝国风格。

主要特点:较少使用革命时期的图案,古典希腊文图案更受青睐,如嵌合体,海狮,海豚和胜利之翼,更加具有侵略性的家具被制造出来。

 

法兰西第一帝国时期:1804年至1815年

这一时期的风格得名于法兰西第一帝国的建立,这一时期的风格主要由拿破仑的两位建筑师创立,范特尼和珀西。两位建筑师都是对古典艺术和建筑的狂热崇拜者。因此他们的设计倡导模仿古代的更加复杂的生活方式,同时融入帝国时期的庄严肃穆,这是拿破仑时代的典型特征。

主要特点:庄重的形式,简单生硬的线条,鲜明的轮廓,沙发和椅子没有过多的曲线条设计,小工艺品,但光滑的圆形柱与青铜基体经常出现在洗脸台和衣柜的设计中;家具都成块状,红木受到青睐,往往高度抛光并加上一层胶合板;样式对称;有时候椅子以浅色做底镶嵌上镀金的点缀;黄铜支架和镀金物是非常受欢迎的,流行的图案有雕,狮身人面像,带翅膀的狮子和天鹅; 在拿破仑在埃及大获全胜后,埃及的图案也变得更受欢迎,。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

波旁王朝复辟时期:1815至1830年

当波旁王朝在法国重新执政,工业革命开始在法国悄然进行。到19世纪中叶,工厂制造的家具比手工制作的家具以更低的价格出售,所以一些家具作坊开始关闭。因此,家具制造业早期的变化和创造性已基本停滞。

第一帝国时期的风格基本上得到延续

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

查尔斯十世:1824年至1830年

查理十世的统治期间,是哥特式风格的复兴,但家具设计理念和风格在很大程度上保留了帝国时期的风格特征。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

路易 - 菲力浦时期:1830年至1848年

在路易 - 菲力浦统治早期,家具设计主要跟随帝国风格。随后出现了一系列的哥特式,文艺复兴式和巴洛克风格的路易十四风格的复兴。

主要特点:缺乏创新,但有精细的用料和良好的做工,深色木材被看好,精心制作的黄铜支架。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

拿破仑三世:1848至1870年

这一时期持续了多种材料混搭的风格,同时具有夸张和缺乏过往时代的平衡感的特点,但家具的做工仍然很精细。

主要特点:巴洛克式,哥特式,文艺复兴和古典式的集合,天鹅绒,印花棉是最受青睐的,壁纸也得到了运用。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

第三共和国时期:1871年至1940年

在此期间的法国家具,基本上是路易•菲利普和拿破仑三世时代的延续,但这时期正处在世纪之交的新艺术运动的节点上。

“乐风摩登”(后来被称为新艺术运动风格)宣布了艺术和工艺在家具制造中的回归,这也是对工业化大规模生产的抵制。这一风格的阐释者威廉•莫里斯,写道:
“我们的艺术是由少数受过教育的人完成的,他们的目标是生产美,他们的工作应该同工人阶级的工作区分开来。”

主要特点:流畅,蜿蜒的线条,有机形式与整洁的组成;逼真的花卉图案,包罗万象 - 艺术,家具,建筑,服装和珠宝 - 它将艺术与日常生活结合到了一起;真实的用料。一个典型的例子是赫克托吉马尔德的地铁入口。

– 查看这段时期的商品 –

PERIOD STYLES

ENGLISH

YEAR

FRENCH

Elizabethan: 1558-1603

The period when England developed its own national style of furniture, inspired by Renaissance ideals of proportion and ornamentation.

Key features: Little upholstery, wood favoured (particularly oak); heavy, turned shapes, often bulbous like Flemish and Netherlands styles; lacking the balanced proportion of Italian Renaissance furniture; exuberant and rich carving; glass becoming less expensive, often used in tessellated diamond patterns.

 

Jacobean: 1603-1625

Furniture of this period is essentially a continuation of Elizabethan style, though with greater attention to detail, and better balance of proportion. The primary figure of this period is the architect Inigo Jones, who studied in Italy before returning home to England. Jones brought with him designs and inspiration from the great Italian architect Palladio, effectively introducing the Palladian canon of design to England.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Cromwellian:1649-1660

A quote from Mr J Stephens, esq:
"Really plain, boring, uncomfortable furniture.
That's why we shouldn't be a Republic."

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Restoration: 1660-1688
(Charles II and James II)

The return of Charles II from exile in France brought a stronger French influence over English furniture design. The Carolean and Restoration periods are particularly famous for wood carving. A good example is Grinling Gibbons, who produced strong, yet airy and delicate carved furniture.

Key features: wood panelling and ornamental plaster work was increasingly used, as were upholstery, gilding and gesso; marquetry increasingly popular, brass beginning to be favoured material for handles, etc.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

William and Mary: 1689-1702

During this period Dutch and French design were the strongest influences, due to close commercial ties and the migration of skilled craftsmen to England, particularly refugee Hugenots.

Key features: gilding, upholstery in fine silks, marquetry, lacquer and boulle; generally a pronounced tendency towards curvilinear structures such as bun feet, serpentine shapes, and (from 1700) spooned chair uprights designed to fit a person's back.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Queen Anne: 1702-1714

Considered the "era of elegance" for many, and a Golden Age of cabinet work. There was a great interest in art and architecture, particularly since The Grand Tour was expected after completing formal education. Also greater importation of French furniture to England.

Key features: a return to style introduced by Inigo Jones, but with greater understanding of the principles behind design; walnut the favoured wood, which halted the use of marquetry and parquetry though crossbanding was used; overall much more delicate and elegant.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Early Georgian: 1714-1727

A continuation of the Queen Anne style, though the vogue for all things Palladian increased. The Baroque style of William Kent ran concurrently, with extravagant curvaceous designs, gilded and richly adorned in fine upholstery.

Key features: classic ornament such as egg-and-dart moulding, pilaster framing, often used around doors and bookcases, capitals, cornices and carved acanthus leaves; mahogany overtook walnut as the favoured material.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Mid Georgian: 1727-1760

Chippendale

Thomas Chippendale: c.1718-1779
Chippendale was one of the most influential figures in English furniture design, and his book 'Gentleman and Cabinet Maker's Director' was, and still is, an important record of 18th century furniture design. The third edition of 'The Director' contained over two hundred engraved plates, with the majority of the designs done in the French Rococo, the Chinese or the Gothic taste.

Hepplewhite

The popular conception of Hepplewhite style comes from the book of designs entitled 'The Cabinet Maker and Upholsterer's Guide' and composed of almost three hundred designs. Many of the designs echoed the style of Adam and of Louis XVI, and much of Hepplewhite's furniture was designed to sit in an Adam interior. Hepplewhite's designs were light with elegant simplicity and excellent proportions. Particular stylistic features include curving lines, slender tapering leg or cabriole leg, detailed chair backs and varying use of woods.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Late Georgian: 1760-1820

Adam

The Adam brothers - Robert and James Adam - were noteworthy figures in the Neo-Classical revival, and Robert Adam became so well-known for his designs that he was virtually the creator of a new classic style now known as 'Adam'. This style encompassed everything from architectural detail to colour-schemes to furniture, and much of the furniture was made by Chippendale, Hepplewhite and their contemporaries.

Sheraton

Thomas Sheraton 1751-1806
One of the great names of English cabinetmaking, Sheraton published several books on making, upholstering and finishing furniture. The Sheraton style refers less to the man himself, and more to the style that has come to be known by that name. The style is a combination of the French Directoire moving towards the French Empire. His work is famous for graceful delicacy, lightness and finished detail with a fine sense of proportion.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Empire: 1804-1815

This style roughly corresponds to the French period of the same name, which had great influence in England.

 

Regency: 1811-1820

During this period, England was undergoing its second phase of the Classical Revival, where furniture design took inspiration from the marble remains of Ancient Greece and Rome.

Key features: refined simplicity with an emphasis on Greek severity; plain forms favoured, and even more elaborate decoration was treated with more restraint than previously; mahogany the favoured wood, with ebony, satinwood and metals used for contrasting inlay; carving used, but sparingly, and was often painted to emulate ormolu; popular motifs included lion masks, caryatids, dolphins, lyres, stars, rosettes and acanthus foliage.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Late Regency: 1820-1830 & William IV: 1830-1837

The Late Regency was in essence a continuation of the Regency style, though there was a revived interest in a romanticized version of Gothic style, known familiarly as "Gothic Castle".

Key features: tracery, arches, ornamental figures; medieval-inspired styles made in popular modern woods such as mahogany and rosewood; though lacking the fine balance and inherent symbolism of true Gothic and Medieval design.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Victorian: 1837-1901

The early Victorian era is important for English furniture design as the Industrial Revolution fundamentally changed furniture manufacture, producing the beginning of mass-production. A focus on manufacture left little room for inventiveness in terms of furniture design, and consequently Victorian style is generally characterized by "nostalgic historicism" - romanticized revivals of medieval and renaissance art and architecture.

Particular 'themes' at the time include:

Modern English Gothic

Post and lintel construction with copious tracery.

Art Furniture

Plain furniture designed to be painted on. Produced around the boom of Impressionism.

Japanism

A vogue for all things Japanese, which lead into exploration of Turkish, Persian, Egyptian, Indian and Moorish art.

Arts and Crafts

A powerful worldwide movement, lead by England, towards rejuvenating the arts of the cabinetmakers. It runs parallel to the Art Nouveau movement on the Continent.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Edwardian: 1901-1910

A modern and international style, characterized by honesty, fitness of purpose and contemporary expression. Utilitarian designs embraced new materials such as glass, concrete and steel. Lead into Art Deco/Art Moderne.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

1550
1600
1650
1700
1750
1800
1850
1900
1950

FRENCH

Renaissance: to 1643

Adherence to Classical canons of proportion and style, specifically the 5 Orders: Doric, Ionic, Corinthian, Tuscan and Composite. Each Order propounds set rules for proportion and decoration. In France the styles of this period overlap, and are often referred to as Francois I and Henri II.

Key features: Balanced and harmonious composition; use of Classical motifs such as acanthus leaves, caryatids, swags, masks, grotesques and scrolls. Overall, an elegant and restrained style.

 

Louis XIII: 1610-1643

The Louis XIII period essentially covers the first half of the 17th century, beginning at the foundation of the Bourbon dynasty. The Bourbons greatly encouraged the arts, and developed a state organized plan to foster new talent. Consequently, France became a centre of great artistic activity, with a range of influences (Italian, Spanish and Flemish).

Key features: exaggerated in detail, with vigorous, carved ornament; carving, turning, inlay, painting and gilding; increased use of soft furnishings for decoration.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Louis XIV: 1643-1715

The Sun King's reign was an era of opulence and a cultural Golden Age for France. Furniture and design moved from being a collection of prevailing fashions, collected from Flemish, Italian and Spanish sources, to a unified national style. Continuing the programme of state patronage of the arts, Louis XIV set up galleries and workshops in and around the Louvre for artists and cabinetmakers with established reputations.

Key features: opulence, symmetry of composition and elegance of carving; rich upholstery in imported textiles, and tapestries beginning to be used; influence of Chinese art beginning to show (imported textiles, pottery etc); variety of woods and metals used for detail; primary woods used included ebony, walnut, oak, beech and various fruitwoods; some woods were often tinted by hand to obtain a precise tone for marquetry work; coloured marbles used for commode tops and the like.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Regence: 1715-1723

A transitional period, where the Louis XIV principles were being modified and the Louis XV principles were being developed. The style retained the rich elegance of Louis XIV, but traded heroic, stately subject matter for more romantic themes and graceful subtleness. During this time that the Rocaille (Rococo) style was adopted and modified from its Italian counterpart - a lighter, asymmetrical alternative to the Louis XIV style.

Key features: elongated shapes (such as the acanthus leaf); development of ormoulu, and greater use of redder-toned woods to show ormolu to its best advantage; less use of ebony; use of small figures in designs, influenced by Oriental designs and Classical mythology; especially prevalent was the shell motif - particularly the upright shell with acanthus leafage starting from both sides from the base of the shell.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Louis XV: 1723-1774

The Rocaille style came into its own. Comfort and luxury dominated furniture design, with excessive use of sinuous curves in carving guided by the principle of asymmetry. More rustic, less ornate furniture was also made for the fashionable retreats for the aristocracy - this style was often copied by the growing middle class, and lead to the development of the Provincial style.

Key features: Fine proportions, graceful curving lines; straight leg was superseded by the cabriole leg; veneering and marquetry were popular - required greater skill to do this due to curved furniture surfaces; rich upholstery with pure silks and damasks; popular woods include oak, walnut, beech, elm and wild cherry.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Louis XVI: 1774-1793

A revival in Neo-Classicism, but with stricter attention to the art of Rome and Greece than earlier periods which relied on Renaissance interpretations of antiquities.

Key features: refined simplicity, ornamental but graceful and delicate; lighter colours favoured for decoration and upholstery; less bold in comparison to the Baroque Louis XIV and Rococo Louis XV; predominantly rectilinear, but circle, ellipse and oval shapes were often used; panelling with plain borders; mahogany often used.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Directoire: 1795-1799

The Directoire period takes its name from the Directory or Directorate, the Republican ruling body established by the National Convention towards the end of the French Revolution. The style lasted longer than the Directory itself, and the design of Directoire furniture was essentially a transitional style, like the earlier Regence period. The ideal of the artist was to capture the true spirit of Ancient Greece and Rome, particularly as Republican Rome was the inspiration for many Revolutionary leaders, philosophers and artists.

Key features: symbols of the Revolution permeated all design - the cap of Liberty, the oak, clasped hands, and the Tricolor were all used in cabinetmaking; refined and graceful simplicity, in established simple forms.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Consulate: 1799-1804

Napoleon overthrew the Directory, formed the first Consulate and appointed himself first Consul. The style of Consulate era furniture is essentially that of the Directoire, though at the later stages of its development into the Empire style.

Key features: less use of Revolutionary symbols in favour of Classical Greek motifs such as chimeras, lions, dolphins and winged figures of Victory; more ambitious pieces of cabinetwork were produced.

 

Empire: 1804-1815

Named for the period of the First Empire (1804-1814), the Empire style was largely created by Napoleon's architects, Fontaine and Percier. Both architects were fervent admirers of Classical art and architecture. Consequently their designs imitated the antiquities acknowledged the needs of a more complex lifestyle, and blended them with an imperial grandeur, which was characteristic of the Napoleonic era.

Key features: severe forms, simple and rigid lines, clear-cut silhouettes; curved lines restricted to sofas and chairs; little moldings, though smooth round columns with bronze base and capital often appeared on commodes; cabinetwork was block-like; mahogany favoured, often highly polished and veneered; symmetry; sometimes chairs painted in a light colour with detail picked out in gilt; brass mounts and ormolu was extremely popular; eagles, sphinxes, winged lions and swans were popular motifs; Egyptian motifs also became more popular after Napoleon's successes in Egypt.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Restoration: 1815-1830

When the Bourbons regained power in France, the Industrial Revolution was beginning to take hold in France. By the mid-19th century factory-made furniture could be made more cheaply than handmade furniture, and consequently the workshops making handmade furniture began to close. Consequently, the variety of change and inventiveness characteristic of earlier periods stagnates.

The Empire style essentially continued.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Charles X: 1824-1830

During Charles X's reign there was a Gothic revival, but furniture design and style largely retained the characteristics of the Empire style.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Louis Philippe: 1830-1848

In the early years of Louis Philippe's reign furniture followed the Empire style. Subsequently there was a series of revivals of Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque Louis XIV styles.

Key features: lack of innovation, but fine materials and good workmanship; dark coloured woods were favoured; elaborate brass mounts.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Napoleon III: 1848-1870

This period continued the stylistic patchwork of various sources, and while often ostentatious and lacking the balance of previous eras, the furniture did display fine workmanship.

Key features: collection of styles (Baroque, Gothic, Renaissance and Classical); velvets and printed cottons were favoured; wallpaper also used.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –

Third Republic: 1871-1940

French furniture design during this period was essentially a continuation of the Louis Philippe and Napoleon III eras, though at the turn of the century the Art Nouveau movement took off.

'Le Style Moderne' (later known as Art Nouveau) propounded a return to arts and crafts in rebellion against mass-manufacture of furniture. The principle exponent of the style was William Morris, who wrote:
"Our art is the work of a small minority composed of educated persons, fully of their aim of producing beauty and distinguished from the great body of workmen by the possession of that aim."

Key features: flowing, sinuous lines; free, organic forms with uncluttered composition; realistic floral motifs; all-encompassing - art, furniture, architecture, clothing and jewellery - which brought art and everyday life together; honest use of materials. A classic example is Hector Guimard's Metro entrances.

– VIEW STOCK FROM THIS PERIOD –